Home > General Software Development, Software Development > Subversion Logins Utility – selectively remove authentication data

Subversion Logins Utility – selectively remove authentication data

Subversion keeps your saved authentication data in a folder on your local workstation.  On my Windows Vista laptop, this folder is C:\Users\jcogley\AppData\Roaming\Subversion\auth\svn.simple.  In this folder, you will find some cryptically named files – one for each Subversion repository authentication information that you have saved.  Using TortoiseSVN you have the option to “Clear Authentication Data” which will clear all saved authentication data.  In most scenarios, that is probably fine – but if you work frequently onsite with customers this can be a pain since the only way to clear the auth data for a sensitive repository is to clear the auth data for everything or remember the directory to go digging around in to find the right file to delete.

This itch finally got scratched for me last week and I wrote a simple utility to show the saved logins and allow you to delete them one at a time.

subversionlogins

We are hiring!  Do you want to write beautiful code in a Test Driven, Refactored, Agile .NET software company in the heart of Washington DC and work on cool products
Take the code test and send your resume along with why you want to join Thycotic to
tddjobs@thycotic.com.

  1. http://
    March 16, 2008 at 11:45 am

    Thanks Jonathan–I can’t count the number of times I have done this manually . . .

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: